Log in

Login to your account

Password *
Remember Me


You are here: Home About BAPEN About Us Executive

The BAPEN Executive Team

Dr Tim Bowling, BAPEN President Dr Tim Bowling, BAPEN President

Tim has been a member of BAPEN Exec for a number of years in the positions of Honorary Secretary and Chair Elect.

Tim is a Consultant in Gastroenterology and Clinical Nutrition at the Nottingham University Hospitals. He runs the clinical nutrition service and a 9-bedded intestinal failure unit and spends much of his time looking after acute type 1 and 2 intestinal failure originating both from his local surgical wards and from further afield. He also runs the home TPN service.

His academic interests all lie within nutrition support and concentrate on the physiological responses to enteral feeding. He has published over 60 papers, has edited books on nutrition in cancer and on nutritional support and lectures widely.

Tim has outlined his vision for BAPEN under his Chairmanship which included the development of the new BAPEN website, clinical guidance for frontline teams and delivering improved membership benefits in addition to the political work that is ongoing.

Dr MIke Stroud, BAPEN President Elect Dr Mike Stroud, BAPEN President Elect

Mike Stroud is a Senior Lecturer in Medicine & Nutrition and a Consultant Gastroenterologist in Southampton. His main clinical and research interests are in intestinal failure, malnutrition & nutrition support, along with inflammatory bowel disease. He is co-leader of the Southampton Nutrition and Intestinal Failure Support Team.

At a national level, Mike is extremely well known for his activities related to improving standards of nutritional care for all patients in all settings. He is President Elect BAPEN, that he is also led in the past, and he currently chairs their Quality and Safety’ committee and sits on their Executive and Council. He also Chairs the UK Nutrition and Hydration Action Alliance (which brings together many associations and charities trying to improve nutritional care standards in Britain) and the British Intestinal Failure Alliance (working to improve national IF standards and services) and is co-chair of the Malnutrition Task Force. In addition, he led the NICE Guideline Development Group which produced the 2006 recommendations on Nutrition Support and the NICE GDG that produced the 2013 guidance on IV fluid prescribing.

Ruth McKee, BAPEN Honorary Secretary Ruth McKee, BAPEN Honorary Secretary

Ruth is a Consultant Colorectal Surgeon at Glasgow Royal Infirmary and has been involved in the nutrition team there for many years. Having trained in the West of Scotland, Aberdeen, Inverness and at St Mark’s, she has developed an interest in intestinal failure as a consultant surgeon and receives regular referrals of patients with acute and chronic IF. The GRI nutrition team looks after between 40 and 50 HPN patients.

Her interest in training led to membership of the General Surgery Specialty Advisory Committee from 2000-2007, the Scottish Surgical Training Board, and the Education committee of the Association of Coloproctology, all of which meant that nutrition appears in the syllabuses of various surgical specialties.

She was the Lead Clinician of the Scottish HPN Managed Clinical Network from 2002 until 2007 and is currently a member of the Scottish National Nutritional Care Board. Over the years her involvement in BAPEN has included the Education and Training Committee and the BAPEN teams course, Bapen Medical committee and LLL teaching course.

Dr Nicola Simmonds, Treasurer ElectDr Nicola Simmonds, BAPEN Honorary Treasurer

Nicki has worked as a Consultant Gastroenterologist with an interest in Nutrition at the Luton & Dunstable Hospital since 1996. Until recently, she led the Nutrition Support Team (which won the NHS Team of the Year award in 2000) and chaired the Nutrition Steering Committee in Luton, dealing with all aspects of nutrition care in the hospital. She has interests in training junior doctors in nutrition and in ethics in relation to nutrition.

Nicki was introduced to BAPEN when it was founded in 1992 and in recent years has been a member of the Education and Training Committee and is currently Honorary Secretary of BAPEN Medical.

She has written the educational modules for junior doctors that are currently available on the BAPEN website (http://www.bapen.org.uk/e-learning/) and been involved in the BAPEN Quality Group and writing the Commissioning Toolkit.

Andrea Cartwright, Honorary Officer MembershipAndrea Cartwright, Honorary Officer: Membership

Andrea took a lead role for membership on BAPEN Exec in 2012 and is a Consultant Nurse - Nutrition Support at Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. She has a BSc (Hons) in Nutrition Support, is a registered Specialist Practitioner in Adult Care and a Nurse Independent and Supplementary Prescriber.

Andrea was Chair of the National Nurses Nutrition Group (NNNG) 2006 – 2009 and has represented the NNNG on BAPEN Council since 2001 as both NNNG Secretary and Chair.

Andrea has been involved in many national working parties, most notably the NICE nutrition support guidelines (2006), and The Royal College of Physicians Feeding Oral Dilemmas (2010).

If you have any requests for particular membership benefits or ideas for the BAPEN membership drive then please contact Andrea via the BAPEN Office - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Wendy-Ling Relph, Honorary Officer: CommunicationsWendy-Ling Relph, Honorary Officer: Communications

Wendy is currently Matron for Nutrition and Quality at East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust. Over the last four years she has been a founding member of the lead group for implementing Essence of Care and sharing best practice across the Kent Health Economy. She leads on nutritional issues throughout the Trust, but is also involved in leading improvements by embedding the concepts within the national programmes of Harm Free Care and the Productive Wards.

Wendy has led multi-disciplinary teams including patients and their representatives to describe the Nutritional Quality Strategy for East Kent Acute Trust, including setting up a Nutritional Steering Group and Operational Groups, ensuring clear lines of responsibility and accountability from Ward to Board. She is currently working with the Community Teams to describe and embed a cross-boundary nutrition strategy for East Kent. Wendy is leading Communications for BAPEN and will be focusing on both internal and external Communications and working closely with Helen Lawn & Associates, BAPEN’s PR Company.

Dr Trevor Smith, Honorary Officer Data and measurementDr Trevor Smith, Honorary Officer: Data and measurement

Trevor is a Consultant Gastroenterologist working in Southampton and, together with Dr Mike Stroud, leads a clinical nutrition and regional intestinal failure service. Trevor chairs the British Artificial Nutrition Survey (BANS) and is a member of BAPEN Council. He is also a member of the British Society of Gastroenterology Small Bowel and Nutrition Committee and the British Intestinal Failure Alliance (BIFA).

Trevor leads on data and measurement for BAPEN; in addition to exciting initiatives within BANS, BAPEN is focusing on the development of a nutrition ward to board dashboard and is exploring national data collection options for measuring performance and quality improvements in nutritional care.