BAPEN Faculty comprises of up to six members of the Association who, over the years have served BAPEN in various capacities and who have made a significant contribution to the field of clinical nutrition in the UK. The role of the Faculty is to advise Council and the BAPEN Executive Committee and bring to their attention any concerns regarding future strategy.

The Faculty also reviews nominations for the John Lennard-Jones medal – BAPEN’s highest award given to members of the Association for their outstanding contribution to BAPEN over a long period of time.


Dr Barry JonesDr Barry Jones, Chair

Past chair of the British Artificial Nutrition Survey (BANS), BSG small bowel/nutrition and RCP nutrition committees and past BAPEN HPN coordinator. Retired Consultant Gastroenterologist in Dudley, West Midlands. Lead of PINNT Virtual Nutrition Team.

Prof David Silk Prof David Silk

Previous chair of Faculty, past chairman and co-founder of BAPEN. Professor of Gastroenterology, Imperial College, London.

Christine Russell, Chair Christine Russell

Christine is a founder member of BAPEN and has served on BANS, MAG, BAPEN Council, Exec and as chair of Faculty. On MAG she helped develop ‘MUST’ and its implementation in UK and abroad. A co-author of many BAPEN reports, she most recently led the 4 national surveys on the Nutrition Screening Week Project, raising awareness of malnutrition across all care settings. She received the IBEX Award of the BDA and the BAPEN John Lennard – Jones Medal and is a life member of BAPEN.

Dr Jon SchafferDr Jon Shaffer

Former council member/liaison officer for ESPEN/Inaugural member of BANS and regional reps. Former clinical director intestinal failure unit Salford. Now semi-retired.

Professor Mike Stroud OBE Professor Mike Stroud OBE

Now partially retired from his Consultant Gastroenterology post in Southampton where he led the Nutrition and Intestinal Failure Team as part of the National IF framework, he was Quality Committee chair and twice President of BAPEN and chair of BIFA. He led NICE guideline 2006 and many other seminal reports. He is an adviser to the British Army on Nutrition and received an OBE for "Human Endeavour and services to charities" and the Polar Medal for his extraordinary explorations in Polar regions. He was awarded the John Lennard – Jones medal and lifetime BAPEN membership. Most recently, he received the Complete Nutrition National Award for Outstanding Achievement.

Andrea CartwrightAndrea Cartwright

A Consultant Nutrition Nurse and Registered non medical prescriber in Basildon & Thurrock, she has been NNNG secretary and Chair and a member of BAPEN Exec and Secretary to BAPEN Quality Group. She participated in NICE guideline, 2006, DoH Action Plan, 2007, RCP Feeding Dilemmas working party, 2010 and NCEPOD’s “A mixed Bag”, 2010. She was awarded Enteral & Parenteral Professional of the year award, 2012 and entered BAPEN Roll of Honour, 2015.
Go To Top