Guts UK and Dr Falk logos

The Guts UK/Dr Falk Awards recognise the achievements of those who bring new insight to gastroenterology and hepatology, and the collaboration that furthers patient care. For those committed to furthering research or improving patient care these awards are an opportunity to achieve national recognition as well as the financial support for career progression. This year colleagues may nominate a nurse for the Nurse Prize.

Prizes available:

A £1,000 prize for the best essay on gastroenterology or hepatology research personally undertaken by medical students who were on an intercalated BSc/MRes/MSc/MPH/MBPhD* course during the previous academic year (2017/18)

Four £1,500 prizes for medical students taking full-time science degrees (BSc/MRes/MSc/MPH/MBPhD*) focusing on research into gastrointestinal or liver-related disease in the current academic year (2018/19)

Two £2,500 awards for F1/F2 doctors to facilitate prospective research in an area relevant to gastroenterology or hepatology

A £1,000 award for primary and secondary care gastrointestinal/liver nurses for initiatives that have advanced patient care

A £1,000 award for dietitians working in the gastrointestinal / liver field for initiatives that have advanced or improved patient care

SpR Trainee Audit/Quality Improvement Awards

Up to £10,000 is available for UK-based gastroenterology / hepatology specialty trainees who would like to conduct an audit or quality improvement project in any area of gastroenterology, liver disease or nutrition.

The application deadline is 5pm on Monday 4th March 2019

Applications received after this time will not be considered. For further information and to apply:

* PhD students should note that they may apply for the medical student prize only once during their three-year studentship and that they may apply for the essay prize when their PhD has been completed.

Go To Top