BAPEN's Committees and Special Interest Groups (SIGs) bring together people who have a special interest in specific areas of clinical nutrition, enabling the development of standards, best practice, tools and resources, undertaking research and other projects such as scientific programmes for the annual conference and focused educational meetings.

Spotlight On... BAPEN Quality and Safety Committee

Former Quality Group Chair, Professor Mike Stroud talks about current projects and initiatives and how improvements in nutritional care through their implementation will make a crucial difference to quality, safety and risk.

The BAPEN Quality Improvement Committee links expertise in quality improvement (QI) to that in nutrition to drive better care standards for all.

Please download our key documents and resources and use them to improve the nutritional care delivered in your organisation.

Log onto the BAPEN forums and give us some feedback on the documents.

Aims / Objectives of the Committee

To use comprehensive QI approaches to achieve and maintain excellence in nutritional care across all health and social care settings.


  1. To evaluate new Government and DH Policy as it relates to the provision of nutritional care (including hydration)
  2. To identify and produce Quality Improvement Guides, Toolkits and resources to support Trusts and Commissioners in delivering excellence in nutritional care
  3. To work with Strategic Health Authorities, home countries and BAPEN reps to ensure the spread of excellent practice across the UK
  4. To identify opportunities for publishing in the field of QI in nutritional care e.g. journal articles
  5. To respond to DH consultations and make recommendations re: advancing nutritional care as appropriate (e.g. QOF, HQIP)

Nature and Scope:

The Committee works primarily electronically, making recommendations as appropriate to BAPEN Executive and Council.

The Committee obtains input from a number of the Core Groups and circulates all documents to BAPEN Council.

Meetings shall be held occasionally at the call of the Chair.

Members of the Committee

  • Ailsa Brotherton (Chair)
  • Andrea Cartwright (Secretary)
  • Mike Stroud
  • Carolyn Wheatley
  • Wendy-Ling Relph
  • Christine Baldwin
  • Winnie Magambo
  • Anne Holdoway
  • Vera Todorovic
  • Rachael masters
  • Katherine Wallis/Emma Parsons

The Programmes Committee is made up of representatives from each of BAPEN's Core Groups and from the Education and Training Committee. Representatives from the Core Groups are nominated by their Committee and bring their group’s suggestions for conference content and report back to their Groups on the Programmes Committee’s activities. Although the committee does not always include representatives from each of the home nations, it strives to ensure that the conference programme covers issues affecting all four home nations (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales).

The Programmes Committee meets four times a year to deliver a topical conference, packed with sessions to appeal to anyone involved in clinical nutrition. The programme is designed to cover a broad range of topics, ranging from initiatives to raise awareness of the problem of malnutrition and service delivery to the specifics of delivering good nutritional care. The conference incorporates sessions and training days to provide CPD accreditation. The Annual Conference is a unique opportunity to network across a broad range of professionals and patients with an interest in nutritional care.

More specifically, the Committee:

  • Develops the programme for the Annual Conference, ensuring it is relevant to multi-professional groups working in all areas of healthcare and in all of the home nations
  • Organises speakers
  • Organises the scoring of abstracts
  • Liaison regarding venue sourcing, booking and the BAPEN annual dinner
  • Liaison with Press Office regarding Conference promotion and post Conference publications

Suggestions for future topics for BAPEN meetings are welcome:
Please e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Aims / Objectives of the Committee

To organise an exciting, clinically relevant annual conference that will be well attended and appeal to members of all the core groups. Meetings to be multidisciplinary and represent good value for money.

Members of the Committee

Pete Turner Pete Turner, Specialist Dietitian - Ulster Hospital, Northern Ireland (Chair) Winnie Magambo-Gasana Winnie Magambo–Gasana, Advanced Nurse Practitioner – Oxford University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust – Representing BAPEN Education and Training Committee
Barbara Dovaston Barbara Dovaston, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Heartlands Hospital Heart of England NHS Foundation, – representing the National Nurses Nutrition Group (NNNG) Jennie Mort Jennie Mort (Sovereign Conference) – conference organizer
Tony Murphy Tony Murphy, Principle Pharmacist, University College Hospital, London – representing The British Pharmaceutical Nutrition Group (BPNG) Irina Grecu Irina Grecu, Consultant in ICM & Anaesthesia, Hampshire Hospitals Foundation Trust – Representing BAPEN Medical
Matthew Kurien Matthew Kurien, Academic Clinical Lecturer in Gastroenterology, Royal Hallamshire Hospital – Representing BAPEN Medical Trainees Carolyn Wheatley Carolyn Wheatley, representing Patients on Intravenous and Nasogastric Nutrition Therapy (PINNT)
Dr Anthony Wiskin, Consultant Paediatric Gastroenterologist - Bristol Royal Hospital for Children – Representing the British Society of Paediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (BSPGHAN).

Andrew Rochford


category for Special Interest Groups

Go To Top